Top level formation flying as a side job

Despite the professional performance of the PC-7 TEAM, all team members fly these displays as a side job. As their full time job, all PC-7 TEAM members are pilots in one of the Swiss Air Force’s three F/A-18 squadrons based in Payerne and Meiringen, and fly some 110 flight hours per year with the Hornet. In this function they carry out the missions of the Swiss Air Force, which include maintaining air sovereignty and air policing over Swiss territory.

In other air forces, it is rare for all the pilots in an aerobatics team like the PC-7 TEAM to be all full-time professional fighter jet pilots who perform flight displays only as a side job. A fact that underlines the high performance capability of the Swiss Air Force.

Colonel Werner Hoffmann


PC-7 TEAM 2015

  • Turbo 1

    Capt Martin Vetter

    Leader 11 FS
  • Turbo 2

    Capt Alain von Büren

    Right Wing 17 FS
  • Turbo 3

    Capt Mario Thöni

    Left Wing Fighter squadron 18
  • Turbo 4

    Capt Matthias Müller

    Slot Fighter squadron 17
  • Turbo 5

    Capt Cyril Johner

    Left Outer Wing Fighter squadron11
  • Turbo 6

    Capt Thomas Hilpert

    Right Outer Wing Fighter squadron 18
  • Turbo 7

    Capt Marius Krüsi

    2nd Solo Fighter squadron 18
  • Turbo 8

    Capt Christoph Schneider

    1st Solo Fighter squadron18
  • Turbo 9

    Capt Mario Schwarz

    2nd Lead Fighter squadron 18
  • Turbo

    Gst Maj Martin Hess

    Spare Pilot Fighter squadron 18
  • Turbo

    Capt David Menth

    Spare Pilot Fighter squadron 17

Public Relations Officers and speakers

Capt Philippe Hertig

Public Relations

Maj Andreas Hebeisen

Public Relations

The precise use of special music effects, live radio broadcasts and the distinctive sound of the engines makes the commentary especially effective and lends a dynamic harmony to the entire performance. The weather conditions, topography and spectator areas are always different, so it is a real challenge every time to time the music right in alternation with the radio sequences and commentary.

Formationsflug auf höchstem Niveau als Nebenjob

Auch wenn das PC-7 TEAM mit seiner Professionalität besticht, ist der Einsatz eines jeden Team-Mitglieds ein Nebenjob. Hauptberuflich fliegen die Piloten des PC-7 TEAM in einer der drei F/A-18-Staffeln der Schweizer Luftwaffe in Payerne oder Meiringen und absolvieren dabei etwa 110 Flugstunden jährlich auf der Hornet. Sie tragen in dieser Funktion zur Auftragserfüllung der Luftwaffe bei. Dazu gehören die Wahrung der Lufthoheit und das Sicherstellen des Luftpolizeidienstes über der Schweiz.


Die Tatsache, dass die PC-7 TEAM Piloten allesamt hauptberuflich Kampfjet fliegen und die Vorführaviatik ausschliesslich als Nebenjob betreiben, ist weltweit eine Seltenheit und unterstreicht die hohe Leistungsfähigkeit der Schweizer Luftwaffe.

Oberst Werner Hoffmann

Kommandant

PC-7 TEAM 2015

  • Turbo 1

    Hptm Martin Vetter

    Leader Fliegerstaffel 11
  • Turbo 2

    Hptm Alain von Büren

    Right Wing Fliegerstaffel 17
  • Turbo 3

    Hptm Mario Thöni

    Left Wing Fliegerstaffel 18
  • Turbo 4

    Hptm Matthias Müller

    Slot Fliegerstaffel 17
  • Turbo 5

    Hptm Cyril Johner

    Left Outer Wing Fliegerstaffel 11
  • Turbo 6

    Hptm Thomas Hilpert

    Right Outer Wing Fliegerstaffel 18
  • Turbo 7

    Hptm Marius Krüsi

    2nd Solo Fliegerstaffel 18
  • Turbo 8

    Hptm Christoph Schneider

    1st Solo Fliegerstaffel 18
  • Turbo 9

    Hptm Mario Schwarz

    2nd Lead Fliegerstaffel 18
  • Turbo

    Maj i Gst Martin Hess

    Spare Pilot Fliegerstaffel 18
  • Turbo

    Hptm David Menth

    Spare Pilot Fliegerstaffel 17

Public Relations Officers und Speaker

Hptm Philippe Hertig

Public Relations

Maj Andreas Hebeisen

Public Relations
Die präzise Einbindung von spezieller Musik, live Funkmitschnitten und dem markanten Turbinensound verleiht dem Kommentar die spezielle Note. So herrscht dynamische Harmonie während der ganzen Vorführung. Wetter, Topographie und Zuschauerräume ändern jedes Mal, darum ist das zeitgerechte Einspielen der Musik in Abwechslung mit Funk und Kommentar immer aufs Neue eine Herausforderung.