Headerimage

PC-7 TEAM Season 2019

Top level formation flying as an additional side job

Lt Col Daniel Stämpfli

Commander

Despite the professional performance of the PC-7 TEAM, all team members fly these displays as an additional side job. As their full time job, all PC-7 TEAM members are pilots in one of the Swiss Air Force’s three F/A-18 squadrons based in Payerne and Meiringen, and fly some 110 flight hours per year with the F/A-18 Hornet. In this function, they carry out the missions of the Swiss Air Force, which include maintaining air sovereignty and air policing over Swiss territory.

In other air forces, it is rare for all the pilots in an aerobatic team to be full-time professional fighter jet pilots, who additionally perform flight displays. This underlines the high performance and capability of the Swiss Air Force.

Turbo 1

Capt Cyril Johner

«Johnny»
Leader
Turbo 2

Capt Marius Egger

«Pnö»
Right Wing
Turbo 3

Capt Beda Staehelin

«Beda»
Left Wing
Turbo 4

Capt Maurice Mattle

«Moe»
Slot
Turbo 5

Capt Matthias Grossen

«Nemo»
Left Outer Wing
Turbo 6

Capt Christian Savary

«Sassel»
Right Outer Wing
Turbo 7

Capt Alain von Büren

«Fondü»
1st Solo
Turbo 8

Capt Benjamin Matthey

«Daffy»
2nd Solo
Turbo 9

Capt Andreas Menk

«Menkster»
2nd Lead

Public Relations Officers and Speaker

Capt Philippe Hertig

PR / Speaker

Special Of Cedric Spörri

PR / Speaker

The precise use of special music effects, live radio broadcasts and the distinctive sound of the engines makes the commentary especially effective and lends a dynamic harmony to the entire performance. The weather conditions, topography and spectator areas are always different, making it a real challenge to time the music correctly in alternation with the radio sequences and commentary.

Headerimage

PC-7 TEAM Saison 2019

Formationsflug auf höchstem Niveau als Zusatzaufgabe

Oberstl Daniel Stämpfli

Commander

Der Einsatz eines jeden Team-Mitglieds ist eine Zusatzaufgabe. Hauptberuflich fliegen die Piloten des PC-7 TEAM in einer der drei F/A-18 Staffeln der Schweizer Luftwaffe in Payerne oder Meiringen und absolvieren dabei etwa 110 Flugstunden jährlich auf der Hornet. Sie tragen in dieser Funktion zur Auftragserfüllung der Schweizer Luftwaffe bei. Dazu gehören die Wahrung der Lufthoheit und das Sicherstellen des Luftpolizeidienstes rund um die Uhr über der Schweiz.

Die Tatsache, dass die PC-7 TEAM Piloten allesamt hauptberuflich Kampfjets fliegen und die Vorführaviatik ausschliesslich als Zusatzaufgabe betreiben, ist weltweit eine Seltenheit und unterstreicht die hohe Leistungsfähigkeit der Schweizer Luftwaffe.

Turbo 1

Hptm Cyril Johner

«Johnny»
Leader
Turbo 2

Hptm Marius Egger

«Pnö»
Right Wing
Turbo 3

Hptm Beda Staehelin

«Beda»
Left Wing
Turbo 4

Hptm Maurice Mattle

«Moe»
Slot
Turbo 5

Hptm Matthias Grossen

«Nemo»
Left Outer Wing
Turbo 6

Hptm Christian Savary

«Sassel»
Right Outer Wing
Turbo 7

Hptm Alain von Büren

«Fondü»
1st Solo
Turbo 8

Hptm Benjamin Matthey

«Daffy»
2nd Solo
Turbo 9

Hptm Andreas Menk

«Menkster»
2nd Lead

Public Relations Officers und Speaker

Hptm Philippe Hertig

PR / Speaker

Fach Of Cedric Spörri

PR / Speaker

Die präzise Einbindung von spezieller Musik, live Funkmitschnitten und dem markanten Turbinensound verleiht dem Kommentar die spezielle Note. So herrscht dynamische Harmonie während der ganzen Vorführung. Wetter, Topographie und Zuschauerräume ändern jedes Mal, darum ist das zeitgerechte Einspielen der Musik in Abwechslung mit Funk und Kommentar immer aufs Neue eine Herausforderung.