PC-7 TEAM Season 2017: Top level formation flying as an additional side job

Lt Col Daniel Stämpfli

Commander
Despite the professional performance of the PC-7 TEAM, all team members fly these displays as an additional side job. As their full time job, all PC-7 TEAM members are pilots in one of the Swiss Air Force’s three F/A-18 squadrons based in Payerne and Meiringen, and fly some 110 flight hours per year with the Hornet. In this function they carry out the missions of the Swiss Air Force, which include maintaining air sovereignty and air policing over Swiss territory.

In other air forces, it is rare for all the pilots in an aerobatics team to be full-time professional fighter jet pilots, who additionally perform flight displays. This underlines the high performance and capability of the Swiss Air Force.
Turbo 1

Capt Cyril Johner

Leader
Fighter squadron 11
Turbo 2

Capt Benjamin Matthey

Right Wing
Fighter squadron 17
Turbo 3

Capt Matthias Grossen

Left Wing
Fighter squadron 18
Turbo 4

Capt Andreas Menk

Slot
Fighter squadron 11
Turbo 5

Capt Matthew Leavy

Left Outer Wing
Fighter squadron 17
Turbo 6

Capt Alain von Büren

Right Outer Wing
Fighter squadron 17
Turbo 7

Capt Marius Krüsi

1st Solo
Fighter squadron 18
Turbo 8

Capt Mario Thöni

2nd Solo
Fighter squadron 18
Turbo 9

Capt Mario Schwarz

2nd Lead
Fighter squadron 18

Public Relations Officers und Speaker

Capt Philippe Hertig

Maj Andreas Hebeisen

The precise use of special music effects, live radio broadcasts and the distinctive sound of the engines makes the commentary especially effective and lends a dynamic harmony to the entire performance. The weather conditions, topography and spectator areas are always different, so it is a real challenge every time to time the music right in alternation with the radio sequences and commentary.

PC-7 TEAM Saison 2017: Formationsflug auf höchstem Niveau als Zusatzaufgabe

Oberstlt Daniel Stämpfli

Commander

Der Einsatz eines jeden Team-Mitglieds ist eine Zusatzaufgabe. Hauptberuflich fliegen die Piloten des PC-7 TEAM in einer der drei F/A-18-Staffeln der Schweizer Luftwaffe in Payerne oder Meiringen und absolvieren dabei etwa 110 Flugstunden jährlich auf der Hornet. Sie tragen in dieser Funktion zur Auftragserfüllung der Luftwaffe bei. Dazu gehören die Wahrung der Lufthoheit und das Sicherstellen des Luftpolizeidienstes rund um die Uhr über der Schweiz.


Die Tatsache, dass die PC-7 TEAM Piloten allesamt hauptberuflich Kampfjet fliegen und die Vorführaviatik ausschliesslich als Zusatzaufgabe betreiben, ist weltweit eine Seltenheit und unterstreicht die hohe Leistungsfähigkeit der Schweizer Luftwaffe.

Turbo 1

Hptm Cyril Johner

Leader
Fliegerstaffel 11
Turbo 2

Hptm Benjamin Matthey

Right Wing
Fliegerstaffel 17
Turbo 3

Hptm Matthias Grossen

Left Wing
Fliegerstaffel 18
Turbo 4

Hptm Andreas Menk

Slot
Fliegerstaffel 11
Turbo 5

Hptm Matthew Leavy

Left Outer Wing
Fliegerstaffel 17
Turbo 6

Hptm Alain von Büren

Right Outer Wing
Fliegerstaffel 17
Turbo 7

Hptm Marius Krüsi

1st Solo
Fliegerstaffel 18
Turbo 8

Hptm Mario Thöni

2nd Solo
Fliegerstaffel 18
Turbo 9

Hptm Mario Schwarz

2nd Lead
Fliegerstaffel 18

Public Relations Officers und Speaker

Hptm Philippe Hertig

PR UNO

Maj Andreas Hebeisen

PR DUE
Die präzise Einbindung von spezieller Musik, live Funkmitschnitten und dem markanten Turbinensound verleiht dem Kommentar die spezielle Note. So herrscht dynamische Harmonie während der ganzen Vorführung. Wetter, Topographie und Zuschauerräume ändern jedes Mal, darum ist das zeitgerechte Einspielen der Musik in Abwechslung mit Funk und Kommentar immer aufs Neue eine Herausforderung.