Headerimage

History of the PC-7 TEAM

30 years ago

What began 30 years ago has changed in many ways. Today, the PC-7 aircraft are equipped with smoke generators, have a new colour scheme, and fly a more varied programme. Time and again, I am impressed by the performance the PC-7 TEAM brings to the sky today!

Res Dubs
Former TURBO UNO and first PC-7 TEAM leader (from 1989 to 1992)

Foundation

PC-7 TEAM

The Swiss Air Force laid the cornerstone for the now internationally renowned PC-7 TEAM in the seventies, when they flew simultaneous aerobatics with two Pilatus P-3 aircraft. After the introduction of the PC-7 in 1983, solo displays were flown with the new orange and silver-coloured trainer plane. During the Air Force competitions in 1987, Colonel Hansruedi Ruesch, the commander of the surveillance wing at the time, ordered a formation with nine PC-7 into the air for the first time. On 20 July 1987, the first nine volunteers gathered to attend a three-day training course in Locarno, where Swiss Air Force pilots are ‘produced’. The first display, performed on 29 August 1987 in Dübendorf, received a very enthusiastic response from the public.

Neuf Magnifiques

PC-7 TEAM

1989, however, is considered the foundation year, as it was then that the team was re-formed to fly at the celebrations marking the Swiss Air Force’s 75 year- jubilee. Nine pilots, headed by Major Res Dubs, met the challenge of designing an attractive programme that included all aspects of formation flying with propeller aircraft. From 1989 onwards, the new Swiss Air Force PC-7 TEAM performed several displays a year, enthralling the Swiss population. In 1992, the «neuf magnifiques» dared to go or rather fly abroad for the first time, demonstrating their skills to a crowd of excited spectators in Avord (France).

Continually refinement

PC-7 TEAM

In 1998, disbanding the team of nine propeller aircraft acrobats for cost saving reasons was seriously discussed. We owe the continued existence of the team to former Federal Councillor Adolf Ogi, who campaigned vehemently for this internationally unique team. Subsequently, the number of displays increased remarkably. Monaco, England, Germany, France, Denmark, Sweden and many other European countries can be found on the annual schedule now. In 1998, the PC-7 TEAM even performed in Israel. The display programme has been continually refined over the years and new elements like multiple crossings, mirror flights and new formations have been added.

Refurbishment of the PC-7

PC-7 TEAM

In 2008, the PC-7 was completely modernised. The cockpit was upgraded to state-of-the-art technology, given a general facelift and the aircraft’s colour scheme was changed to the Swiss national colours, red and white. Highly popular in Switzerland and abroad, the PC-7 TEAM has received several awards, including the «King Hussein Memorial Sword» for best flight presentation in Fairford, GB, in 2013. In time for its 25-year jubilee in 2014, the PC-7 TEAM installed a new smoke generating system in its planes. The smoke makes the formations and figures flown in the sky more clearly visible to the crowd.

2019: 30 years PC-7 TEAM

PC-7 TEAM

This year the PC-7 TEAM celebrates its 30th anniversary. The official logo therefore shows an orange 30 in memory of the TEAM's beginnings.
In addition, the aircraft will be given a special sticker and the musical accompaniment to the performance will impress with a new, dynamic composition, specially adapted to the individual formations.
The book "Mit Können, Lust und Leidenschaft" and a newly produced film give interested parties a deeper insight not only into the work, but also into the team spirit.

Headerimage

L'histoire du PC-7 TEAM

Il y a 30 ans

Tout commence donc en 1989, il y a 30 ans. Depuis, beaucoup de choses ont changé à bien des égards. Les PC-7 sont aujourd’hui équipés de dispositifs fumigènes et ont changé de couleur ; le programme est également plus varié. Aujourd’hui comme hier, les exploits du PC-7 TEAM dans les airs me coupent à chaque fois le souffle !

Res Dubs
Ancien TURBO UNO et premier leader du PC-7 TEAM (1989–1992)

Fondation

PC-7 TEAM

Les Forces aériennes ont posé les bases du PC-7 TEAM dans les années 70 du siècle dernier, lorsque deux Pilatus P-3 ont exécuté ensemble un vol acrobatique. Après l’introduction des PC-7 en 1983 ont suivi des démonstrations en solo sur ce nouvel avion d’entraînement portant les couleurs orange et argent. En 1987, le colonel Hansruedi Ruesch, alors commandant de l’Escadre de surveillance, ordonna pour la première fois dans les airs une formation de neuf PC-7 à l’occasion des championnats des troupes d’aviation. Le 20 juillet 1987, les neuf premiers volontaires se retrouvèrent à Locarno pour un premier cours d’entraînement de trois jours. Quant à la première démonstration, elle eut lieu le 29 août 1987 à Dübendorf devant un public nombreux.

Neuf Magnifiques

PC-7 TEAM

Cependant, on retient 1989 comme étant l’année de fondation du Team, lorsque ce dernier se constitua pour célébrer les 75 ans des Forces aériennes suisses. Neuf pilotes, avec à leur tête le major Res Dubs, se sont attaqués à la mission exigeante de mettre sur pied un programme attrayant présentant toutes les facettes de l’aviation légère. Dès 1989, le PC-7 TEAM des Forces aériennes nouvellement fondé volait plusieurs fois par an et enthousiasmait la population suisse. En 1992, les « neuf magnifiques » franchirent pour la première fois le pas. Autrement dit, ils volèrent pour la première fois à l’étranger, faisant la démonstration de leur savoir-faire à Avord (France) devant un public conquis.

Amelioration continue

PC-7 TEAM

En 1998, la question de la dissolution de cette équipe d’acrobates sur avions à hélice fut sérieusement abordée pour des raisons économiques. Elle dut spécialement son maintien à l’ancien conseiller fédéral Adolf Ogi, qui plaida avec véhémence la cause de ce Team unique en son genre et internationalement reconnu. Par la suite, le nombre des démonstrations ne cessa de croître pour passer à huit, et même à dix par an. Monaco, la Grande-Bretagne, l’Allemagne, la France, le Danemark, la Suède et bien d’autres pays d’Europe figuraient dorénavant au programme annuel du Team. En 1998, il vola même en Israël. Le programme du show ne cessa de s’affiner au cours des années et fut enrichi de nouvelles formations ainsi que de nouvelles figures telles le vol en miroir ou les croisements multiples.

Modernisation du PC-7

PC-7 TEAM

L‘outil de travail fiable qu’est le PC-7 fut complètement modernisé en 2008. Avec la modernisation de son cockpit et un relooking réussi, l’avion rouge et blanc porte haut et fort les couleurs de la Suisse. Reconnu aussi bien en Suisse qu’à l’étranger, le PC-7 TEAM a été maintes fois primé, notamment à Fairford (GB) en 2013, où il a reçu le « King Hussein Memorial Sword », une distinction qui récompense la meilleure démonstration aérienne. Le PC-7 TEAM a inauguré son nouveau dispositif fumigène en 2014, l’année de son 25e anniversaire. Cette nouvelle dimension donnée aux évolutions aériennes permet au public d'apprécier encore plus les démonstrations du Team.

2019: 30 ans du PC-7 TEAM

PC-7 TEAM

Cette année, le PC-7 TEAM fête son 30ème anniversaire. Le logo officiel rappelle les débuts du Team à travers la couleur orange du nombre 30. De plus, un logo spécial a été apposé sur les avions et l'accompagnement musical des démonstrations se distingue par une nouvelle composition dynamique et spécialement synchronisée avec les différentes formations présentées.
Le livre "Mit Können, Lust und Leidenschaft" ainsi que la production d'un nouveau film procurent aux intéressés une vision élargie du travail, de l'ésprit d'équipe et de la cohésion régnant à l'intérieur du Team.