PC-7 TEAM Season 2017: Top level formation flying as an additional side job

Lt Col Daniel Stämpfli

Commander
Despite the professional performance of the PC-7 TEAM, all team members fly these displays as an additional side job. As their full time job, all PC-7 TEAM members are pilots in one of the Swiss Air Force’s three F/A-18 squadrons based in Payerne and Meiringen, and fly some 110 flight hours per year with the Hornet. In this function they carry out the missions of the Swiss Air Force, which include maintaining air sovereignty and air policing over Swiss territory.

In other air forces, it is rare for all the pilots in an aerobatics team to be full-time professional fighter jet pilots, who additionally perform flight displays. This underlines the high performance and capability of the Swiss Air Force.
Turbo 1

Capt Cyril Johner

Leader
Fighter squadron 11
Turbo 2

Capt Benjamin Matthey

Right Wing
Fighter squadron 17
Turbo 3

Capt Matthias Grossen

Left Wing
Fighter squadron 18
Turbo 4

Capt Andreas Menk

Slot
Fighter squadron 11
Turbo 5

Capt Matthew Leavy

Left Outer Wing
Fighter squadron 17
Turbo 6

Capt Alain von Büren

Right Outer Wing
Fighter squadron 17
Turbo 7

Capt Marius Krüsi

1st Solo
Fighter squadron 18
Turbo 8

Capt Mario Thöni

2nd Solo
Fighter squadron 18
Turbo 9

Capt Mario Schwarz

2nd Lead
Fighter squadron 18

Public Relations Officers und Speaker

Capt Philippe Hertig

Maj Andreas Hebeisen

The precise use of special music effects, live radio broadcasts and the distinctive sound of the engines makes the commentary especially effective and lends a dynamic harmony to the entire performance. The weather conditions, topography and spectator areas are always different, so it is a real challenge every time to time the music right in alternation with the radio sequences and commentary.

PC-7 TEAM Saison 2018: Vol en formation à haut niveau comme activité annexe

Lt Col Daniel Stämpfli

Commander

Même si le PC-7 TEAM séduit par son professionnalisme, chaque membre n’y est engagé qu’à temps partiel. En effet, tous les pilotes du PC-7 TEAM volent principalement dans une des trois escadrilles F/A-18 des Forces aériennes suisses à Payerne ou à Meiringen ; ils effectuent chaque année environ 110 heures de vol sur le Hornet. Dans cette fonction, ils assurent les missions des Forces aériennes suisses. Il s’agit notamment de sauvegarder la souveraineté sur l’espace aérien et d’assurer le service de police aérienne au-dessus de la Suisse de manière permanente.

Le fait que les pilotes du PC-7 TEAM volent en tant que professionnels sur un avion de combat et effectuent en tant qu'activité annexe des présentations en patrouille est une rareté mondiale; ceci démontre le haut niveau de performance des Forces aériennes suisses.

Turbo 1

Cap Cyril Johner

Leader
Escadrille 11
Turbo 2

Cap Benjamin Matthey

Right Wing
Escadrille 17
Turbo 3

Cap Matthias Grossen

Left Wing
Escadrille 18
Turbo 4

Cap Andreas Menk

Slot
Escadrille 11
Turbo 5

Cap Matthew Leavy

Left Outer Wing
Escadrille 17
Turbo 6

Cap Alain von Büren

Right Outer Wing
Escadrille 17
Turbo 7

Cap Marius Krüsi

1st Solo
Escadrille 14
Turbo 8

Cap Mario Thöni

2nd Solo
Escadrille 18
Turbo 9

Cap Mario Schwarz

2nd Lead
Escadrille 18

Public Relations Officers et commentateurs

Cap Philippe Hertig

Of spéc Cedric Spörri

Le savant mélange de musique, de conversations radio en direct du cockpit et du bruit caractéristique des turbines confère au commentaire sa touche particulière. Etant donné que la météo, la topographie et l’emplacement des spectateurs changent à chaque fois, le mixage de tous les éléments de la sonorisation est un défi sans cesse renouvelé.